thousands of free and legal carefully curated MP3's

The Juan Maclean

By the Time I Get to Venus is the debut release from solo artist Juan Maclean, previously known as John Maclean, leader of the electro-punk band Six Finger Satellite. Maclean's old band released five albums on Sub Pop Records, most of which were recorded in Maclean's Providence recordings studio The Parlour, where the group pioneered a unique mix of analog electronics, sharp-edged guitars, and martial percussion. Six Finger Satellite was eerie and alienating; each piercing song felt like an electroshock experiment through a wall of tweeters. Sort of like Big Black or Devo after months of crystal meth intake.

The chaos has subsided considerably on Juan Maclean's new recordings, but the chop shock sound remains. The DFA's James Murphy has always been an integral part of Maclean's music, even during the Six Finger Satellite era when he was known to push P.A. systems to punishing levels as the engineer on the group's countless tours. He also produced their final album Law of Ruins in 1998. Now Murphy's DFA Records presents Juan's new work, first with the By the Time I Get to Venus 12-inch.

This debut effort features two stark yet danceable electroclash cuts, including the title track, plus a stellar remix by Adam Horowitz (aka Ad Rock of the Beastie Boys). This record is definitely suitable for rotations in lower Manhattan clubs as well as intelligent electronic listening at home.